By Eugene Birman, Kawai Chan & Justin Siu

表演  2019年10月15 & 16日  19:00-20:00

Eugene Birman, 作曲

Justin Siu, 大提琴

Kawai Chan, 鋼琴

表演者和演出;鋼琴家和鋼琴。

 

每年,數以萬計的學位被授予世界各地的年輕音樂家。他們彈他們的蕭邦,鞠躬謝幕,繼續往前。他們與樂器的連結是偶然的:要發聲,就需要演奏。但是,演奏者與樂器之前除了這種功能關聯及交換關係之外,樂器不過是樂器,它不會主動表演;而是接納演奏者的單向輸入。

 

BIONICPIANO - 連續兩晚,每晚接近(或少於)一小時,演奏者將探索古典音樂中表演者最不被驅使跨越的界限。因為越過此線,我們將成為樂器,樂器將成為我們。此次EUGENE BIRMAN將帶來大提琴和鋼琴的RUMOR香港首演,以及鋼琴獨奏版RUMOR的全球首演。同時,亦將與作曲家的D大調前奏曲一並呈現,該曲取材于19世紀和20世紀蕭邦、拉赫馬尼諾夫等人的著名鋼琴曲。

 

作為一件裝置,而非傳統音樂會,觀眾將體驗表演者和演出的融合,表演者不仅要弹奏钢琴,也要以同樣的方式「演奏」自己。琴音可以來自樂器,也可能來源於我們自己。而人的聲音,無論是口哨聲、歌聲還是尖叫聲,都只是鍵盤的延伸。

 

爵士低音提琴手JUSTIN SIU將攜大提琴加入鋼琴演奏家KAWAI CHAN,二人聯手演繹極端主義和極端表達的音樂。BIONICPIANO所質問的不僅是樂器對表演者可以提出多少要求,亦是表演者自己在「成為樂器」這個概念上願意走多深。如果科技的終極目標是將「人類」和「人造」融合,那麼可以肯定的是,當我們的藝術自我與樂弦,琴鍵和錘子合而為一,超越表演的那一刻,就實現了仿生。

 

BIONICPIANO曾被描述為「令人振奮和驚天動地」(Eesti kuluurileht SIRP)及「極富戲劇性」(BBC世界電視台),它將是EUGENE BIRMAN的音樂在香港的第一次視覺化呈現。

關於藝術家

Eugene Birman

作為作曲家,Eugene Birman的音樂「極富戲劇性」且「感情激烈」(BBC),「即刻,巧妙,催眠,勇敢,美麗」(Festival Internazionale A.F. Lavagnino) 。Birman曾為交響樂團(倫敦愛樂樂團,明尼蘇達樂團,愛樂樂團,奧爾奎特拉·古爾本基安),合唱團(BBC歌手,拉脫維亞廣播合唱團,埃里克·埃里克森·坎馬克厄爾)以及領先的合唱團和獨奏家(馬克西姆·範格羅夫,馬里齊奧·本·奧馬爾等人)譜曲。從倫敦的南岸中心到卡內基音樂廳再到北極圈以上,場地遍布四大洲。他的職業生涯廣為人知,曾在CNN,BBC世界電視台,法國廣播電台,德國之聲等電台露面,其特點是無所畏懼地專注於創作與社會相關的大型作品,當中涉及金融危機,俄羅斯邊境條約等內容。Birman創作的委派機構和合作夥伴圈遠不止音樂廳,而是延展到歐盟,奧地利外交部和香港特別行政區等主要國際機構,以及約翰·西蒙·古根海姆基金會(2018)和美國國務院富布賴特計劃(2010-11)傑出獎學金。Birman被授予2017年皇家愛樂協會作曲獎,在南岸中心(Southbank Center)駐留了一個季度,與愛樂樂團在皇家音樂廳舉行了全球首演,並成為芬蘭最大的年度文化盛事 -- 赫爾辛基文化節 -- 2018年唯一的駐場藝術家。他獲得了牛津大學哲學博士學位,同時還擁有哥倫比亞大學,茱莉亞音樂學院及Accademia Musicale Chigiana的學位。

 

Justin Siu是一位多學科的音樂家,他可以在爵士俱樂部的演奏台上,交響樂團的大提琴區或爵士樂團的指揮台上同樣感到賓至如歸。他9歲開始學習古典大提琴,年少時就獲得了許多獎項。後來他在劍橋大學就讀,獲得了計算機科學的碩士學位,具有諷刺意味的是,他獲得了音樂獎。但直到數年之後,當這位前計算機極客放下鍵盤並拾起低音提琴時,他對音樂的追求才真正開始。他的轉型很快使他成為爵士貝斯手,並與許多本地和國外知名的爵士藝術家合作,並為他的開拓性願景鋪路:用創意項目融合音樂、計算機技術和多媒體視覺效果。Siu通常是樂隊/部門負責人或獨奏家。他的履歷跨領域廣泛:大邱國際爵士音樂節(韓國2018),香港國際爵士音樂節(2016及2017),澳門爵士周(2015,擔任伴奏),Tango Apasionado音樂會系列(2016-2018),許志安17Oz音樂會(2017),楊千嬅世界巡迴演唱會(2015),法國五月Anna Cabaret des Années Folles(2013),Ya-gotta-swing對搭爵士鋼琴家Chihiro Yamanaka(2012),「唐人街繁華夢」,香港藝術節(2011),Imogen Heap香港演唱會(2010),音樂時刻(2012-2014)和「歌劇魅影」(2006)。在Siu的所有作品中,最重要的也許是他自己的格萊美提名Howard McCrary的樂隊,該樂隊在北京和澳門的演出贏得了廣泛讚譽,McCrary在香港文化中心舉辦的音樂會也一舉轟動,成為2013年7月的街談巷議。2018年,Siu 與香港首屈一指的爵士鋼琴演奏家Ted Lo,加拿大歌唱家Janaia Farrell和法國鼓手Laurent Robin共同發行了他自己製作和整理的爵士專輯「SPIN」,該專輯由香港環球唱片公司發行,并連續六周位於HMV香港最暢銷的爵士專輯榜首。

Kawai Chan曾在意大利,奧地利,香港,台灣和全美多地以獨奏者和合作藝術家的身份表演。她曾與多個樂團合作演出,包括在意大利的Foundellaone Salina樂團和Filarmonica Italiana樂團。Chan曾在紐約的Mary Hayes North比賽和Empire State 鋼琴比賽中榮獲一等獎。Thousand Island鋼琴比賽的決賽選手。Chan獲得過許多助學金和獎學金。她被授予伊薩卡大學的全額獎學金,並以優異的成績畢業。在皮博迪音樂學院,她的碩士學位也曾獲得皮博迪獎學金。在密歇根州立大學攻讀博士學位期間,除其他獎學金和助學金外,Chan還是研究改進獎的兩個獲獎者之一。她的主要導師包括Read Gainsford,Boris Slutsky和George Vatchnadze。Chan最近遷回香港,活躍於演出和教學兩個領域。她曾舉行獨奏音樂會,並與各界藝術家合作,在不同的音樂會系列中演出,包括香港科技大學的Music Alive系列;花旗銀行廣場音樂會系列;藝術,文化和音樂在機場及香港電台第四台「室樂雅聚」。Chan目前是香港浸會大學的兼職講師和藝術老師。

地點

奧沙

香港九龍觀塘興業街20號聯合興業工業大廈4樓

 

主辦

奧沙藝術基金

支持 

通利琴行

香港生力啤酒廠有限公司

© 2020 by Osage 

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

top of page
HKACT.png

 By Eugene Birman, Kawai Chan & Justin Siu

Act 8_A4 copy 6.jpg

Performance  15 & 16 October 2019 19:00-20:00

 

Eugene Birman, composer

Justin Siu, cello

Kawai Chan, piano

The performer and the performed; the pianist and the piano.

 

Every year, tens of thousands of degrees are awarded to young musicians all over the world. They play their Chopin, they bow, they move on. Their link to their instrument is incidental: to create sound, you need to play something. But aside from that functional relationship, aside from that quid pro quo, the instrument is really just an instrument. It is not playing; it’s all a one-way street.

 

BIONICPIANO - in approximately one hour, and perhaps even less, for two consecutive evenings, will explore the lines of classical music that performers are least compelled to cross. It’s the line where we become the instrument, where the instrument becomes us. The HK premiere of RUMOR by EUGENE BIRMAN for violoncello and piano, as well as the world premiere of its solo piano version, will be presented alongside the composer’s D Major Preludes, which take and transcend material from famous piano music of the 19th and 20th century by Chopin, Rachmaninov, and others. 

 

Presented as an installation, not a traditional concert, audiences will experience a fusion of performer and performed, where one must play oneself as much as the piano, where the sound of the piano is as likely to come from ourselves as it is from the instrument, and where the human voice, whether it whistles, sings, or screams, is just an extension of the keyboard. 

 

KAWAI CHAN, virtuoso pianist, joined by JUSTIN SIU, a jazz contrabassist who on this occasion will take on the cello, will bring to life this music of extremism and extreme expression. BIONICPIANO asks not only how far the demands on a performer can really reach, but how far is the performer him/herself willing to go to become the instrument. If the ultimate aim of technology is to merge the human with the human-created, then surely it’s the moment our own artistic selves become one with the strings, keys, and hammers that transcends performance, renders us bionic.

 

Described as “electrifying and earth-shaking” (Eesti kultuurileht SIRP) and music “of high drama” (BBC World TV), BIONICPIANO is the first portrait presentation of Eugene Birman’s music in Hong Kong.

Biography

Eugene Birman

A composer of music of “high drama” and “intense emotion” (BBC), “at once, ingenious, hypnotic, brave, and beautiful” (Festival Internazionale A.F. Lavagnino), Eugene Birman (b. 1987) has written for symphony orchestras (London Philharmonic, Minnesota Orchestra, Philharmonia Orchestra, Orquestra Gulbenkian), choirs (BBC Singers, Latvian Radio Choir, Eric Ericsons Kammarkör), and leading ensembles and soloists (Maxim Vengerov, Maurizio Ben Omar, etc.) across four continents in venues ranging from London’s Southbank Centre to Carnegie Hall to above the Arctic Circle. His highly public career, with appearances on CNN, BBC World TV, Radio France, Deutsche Welle, and others, is characterized by a fearless focus on socially relevant large-scale compositions covering the financial crisis, Russian border treaties, and more. Commissioners and partners for Birman’s work extend beyond the concert hall to major international bodies such as the European Union, the Austrian Foreign Ministry, and the Hong Kong SAR, as well as through prominent fellowships from the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation (2018) and the US Department of State’s Fulbright Program (2010-11). Most recently, he was awarded the 2017 Royal Philharmonic Society Composition Prize, leading to a season-long residency at the Southbank Centre and world premiere with the Philharmonia Orchestra at Royal Festival Hall, and appointed the sole Artist-in-Residence of the 2018 Helsinki Festival, Finland’s biggest yearly cultural event. A D.Phil recipient from the University of Oxford, he also holds degrees from Columbia University, the Juilliard School, and the Accademia Musicale Chigiana.

 

Justin Siu is a multi-disciplinary musician who can feel equally at home on the band stand in a jazz club, in the cello section of a symphony orchestra or on the conductor podium for his jazz orchestra. While he started learning classical cello at the age of 9, garnered awards during his youth, attended the University of Cambridge, from which he obtained his M.A. in computer science, ironically under a music award, his real pursuit for music did not begin until years later when the former computer geek put down the keyboard and picked up the double bass instead. His new course soon brought him acclaim as a jazz bassist, having collaborated with many renowned local and foreign jazz artists, and paved way for his pioneering vision on creative projects that bring music, computer technology and multimedia visuals together. Usually as band/section leader or soloist, Justin has an extensive cross-genre resume: Daegu International Jazz Festival (S. Korea 2018), Hong Kong International Jazz Festival (2016 & 2017), Macau Jazz Week (2015, as sideman), Tango Apasionado Concert Series (2016-2018), Andy Hui 17Oz Concert (2017), Miriam Yeung World Tour (2015), Theatre Cabaret des Années Folles at Le French May (2013), Ya-gotta-swing, ft. jazz pianist Chihiro Yamanaka (2012), Piccadilly Revisited, Hong Kong Arts Festival (2011), Imogen Heap Hong Kong Concert (2010), Musical Moments (2012-2014) and The Phantom of the Opera (2006). Among all his work, perhaps the most significant was his own orchestra for the Grammy Nominated Howard McCrary, which garnered wide acclaim with shows in Beijing and Macau, and also Howard’s own sensational, talk-of-the-town concert at the Hong Kong Cultural Centre in July 2013. In 2018, Justin released his self-produced and arranged jazz album “SPIN”, under Universal Music Hong Kong, along with Hong Kong’s premiere jazz pianist Ted Lo, Canadian vocalist Janaia Farrell and French drummer Laurent Robin. The album became number one best-selling Jazz album at HMV in Hong Kong for 6 weeks.

Kawai Chan has performed extensively as a soloist and collaborative artist in Italy, Austria, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and throughout the United States. She has performed with various orchestras including Orchestra della Foundazione Salina and Orchestra Filarmonica Italiana in Italy. Awarded first prize at the Mary Hayes North competition and the Empire State Piano competition in New York, Kawai was also a finalist at the Thousand Island Piano Competition. A recipient of many grants and fellowships, Kawai was awarded a full scholarship to attend Ithaca College where she also graduated magna cum laude, and at Peabody Conservatory she was awarded the Peabody Grant for her Master's studies. During her doctorate studies at Michigan States University, Kawai was one of the two winners of the Research Enhancement Award in addition to the other scholarship and fellowship.  Her principal teachers include Read Gainsford, Boris Slutsky, and George Vatchnadze. Recently relocated back to Hong Kong, Kawai is active in both performing and teaching.  She has given recitals and collaborated with various artists and performed at different concert series including Music Alive Series at HKUST, Citibank Plaza Concert Series; Art, Culture, and Music at the airport; and Music of Friends at RTHK Radio 4. Kawai is currently an adjunct lecturer and artist teacher at Hong Kong Baptist University.

Venue 

Osage Gallery

4/F, 20 Hing Yip Street, Kwun Tong

 

 

Presented by 

Osage Art Foundation

Supported by 

Tom Lee Music

San Miguel Brewery Hong Kong Limited

bottom of page